Everything old is new

Walters sleeping on the floor again.  He held his ground last night.  I procured a “pinky promise” he’d sleep in bed on school nights.  We’ll see.  Those pinky promises can be shakey propositions with the 7 year old mind.

Dudette has had a spectacular weekend with Walter.  Watched her lay down the law and walk away yesterday.  I also saw Walter fall in line.  The girl can roll when she gets out of her own way.  I love her with all my heart but her desire to talk and be heard kill her with him sometime.   Believe in yourself enough and you don’t need the acknowledgment or attention.  He’s our little “look at me fiend.”  Not the other way around.  I know how hard this is on her and I’m very proud of her.  When the boat of dreams beaches itself on reality shore enjoying the beach can be tough.

The old, fart, homework machine approached Dudette last week and asked about homework AGAIN.  My plan is to corner her in the classroom and just scream “SERIOUSLY?!?” repeatedly for 45 minutes.  Dudette thinks we should ignore her.  We’ll try her plan…for now.

Abide.

This entry was posted in Diary of a Dudeist Dad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everything old is new

  1. Allison says:

    The Dudette ROCKS!! And so do you! Part of the reason I write so much is that I have to say it to SOMEONE. My kids’ eyes just roll back in their heads and whatever the did get from the first two sentences (their absorbtion span) gets wiped out by their desperation to get me to stop talking.

    Maybe the Dudette can have some guest spots on your blog.

  2. Allison says:

    My kids sleep on the floor from time to time. I don’t really get it, but I’ve given up trying to reason with them about it. I just go with the flow, for the most part. As long as they’re sleeping, I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

