Court Yesterday

So Walter went to court.  We told him Thursday night he’d be going we sat him down to tell him.  To assure him not to be scared, he’d be coming back to us and there was nothing to worry about.  He looked at us and said, “I’ve been there!  It’s cool!  They have games and are going to give me a teddy bear!!!”  He got up at 5am because he was so excited to go.  We worried all week about telling him.  Silly Dudes.

So they continued the case for a couple of months but it looks like the next court date will be the one we are waiting for.  I’m more confident than ever Walter will be ours.  I love him so much.  Even when he is being an incredible asshole.  INCREDIBLE.  He bought a little Easter Bunny that he has named “Chloe.”  He started speaking for Chloe and Chloe is now calling us “Mommy” and “Daddy.”  He’s trying it out but without saying it himself.  Ventriloquism makes the guilt go away.  It’s quite cute.  Plus we’ve been able to get Walter to model good behavior for Chloe who can act up at times.

At court Walter’s lawyer asked him about us.  The SW told us he said, “they are really nice, we have movie nights and they play with me a lot.”  Last night he called me into his room to “tell me something.”  I went in and got down to his level.  He whispered, “Dudette’s the best!” I just smiled and said, “She’d like to hear that from you.”  He says, “Yeah!” and starts to run off, stops and says to me, “you’re the best too Dude.”  I just said, “Abide little dude, abide.”

Apparently he’s decided to be a shithead today so I will take my own advice.

This entry was posted in Diary of a Dudeist Dad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Court Yesterday

  1. maimai says:

    Oh yay! This is such great news!!!
    I love how he’s making Chloe call you guys mom and dad. So adorable.
    Can’t wait to hear that Walter is officially yours!

  2. dragonmommie says:

    Great news and I agree, looks very promising. I’m praying and crossing my fingers… does they cancel each other out? (My attempt at a joke) So happy for Dudette~!

  3. Nan says:

    Just want to tell you that bio kids can be shitheads too. Something tells me that you fell into that category growing up. I know I did.

  4. Allison says:

    Let the bunny do the talking. Bunnies always tell the truth.

    It’s a funny thing about obnoxious children. I just can’t help loving them to pieces with my heart–even when my head is wondering whether I can find a babysitter on ten-seconds’ notice.

Leave a Reply

