Weird place…

Walter went down tonight without issue.  We had therapy and he gladly went.  He was light and breezy for most of the evening.  Dudette and I have noticed a major up tick in apologies.  I asked him tonight if he thought we were always mad at him and he tersely said, “YES.”  I don’t know why, we’ve been pouring on the positive reinforcement and there are moments were we get tense because listening is not a priority but it hardly seems to me like we do nothing but yell.  I think we need to have the “Last Stop” chat again.  The one where we tell him he isn’t going anywhere.  I don’t know how else to help with his self esteem.  I feel like we’ve been pretty tolerant and lenient for the last few weeks so this “sorry” streak has really got me spinning.

He also told me tonight his teacher told him today he has to do last weeks homework again.  She told my wife we need to correct it and work on his handwriting.  I’m going to speak with the principal again tomorrow.  This conversation is going to be a bit less cordial than the last one.  This teacher has got to cut the mother fucking shit.  I’ve had rage issues.  I handle myself more maturely by choice now.  She’s making me want to make some different choices.

This entry was posted in Diary of a Dudeist Dad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weird place…

  1. burbanmom says:

    Mike,

    This teacher sounds like a piss poor excuse for an educator. I don’t know anything about Walter or the difficulties he’s faced in his six years, but you might want to consider looking into developing an IEP for him. An IEP is an Individualized Education Plan and all public schools in the US are required to evaluate a student for an IEP, if their guardian requests it. It would allow special accomodations to be made for Walter and can provide free services (think speech, Occupational Therapy, tutoring, etc.) through the school. Both of my kids had IEP’s when they were younger due to speech impairments. Ethan would most likely still qualify for OT because he has Asperger’s Syndrome. It is possible that Walter could qualify for post-traumatic stress disorder.

    However, if you do decide to go this route, be warned that most schools try to fight you a bit because it costs them money and resources that are generally already stretched thin. You may need to be willing to be an overbearing bitch (or whatever it is Dads do). Here are some resources if you’re interested in learning more:

    http://kidshealth.org/parent/growth/learning/iep.html
    http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/se/sr/iepresources.asp
    http://www.nhspecialed.org/eligibility.shtml

    You and Allison are amazing people – keep on keeping on! 🙂

    – Erin

    • thedudedad says:

      “You may need to be willing to be an overbearing bitch (or whatever it is Dads do).”

      We call that being un-Dudelike and believe me. I can be very Un-Dudelike. Thank you for the links I will definitely check them out. I can tell you right now I’m going to request this at the meeting. Do you know any books was about legal defense? I may snap and strangle this teacher. 😛

      You and your sisters’ support means the world to us. All three of you have really helped me out and I’m forever in your debts. Thanks so much.

      • burbanmom says:

        Mike,

        I hope your meeting goes well and at a minimum, the threat of an IEP will be enough to convince the principal that the teacher should ease up a bit. God, how can she not have any sympathy for what this poor kid is going through and want to try to make his life even a little bit easier? Does she think his world will implode if he can’t name the stages of a butterfly? I think he’s probably got more important stuff on his mind right now.

        Unfortunately, I don’t know anything about legal defense, but I do know geography and I bet you could make it to Mexico before they caught up with you. 🙂

        I’m glad we can help in some small way. I know our hearts just break for Walter and what he’s going through. A six-year-old’s concept of ‘unfair’ should be “no broccoli = no dessert”, not “sorry, but you can’t live with your Mommy because she’s unfit to parent”. Thank goodness he has you guys.

        – Erin

      • thedudedad says:

        that’s what i was thinking about the IEP as well. I spoke with the principal yesterday and she will be present at the meeting. She asked that I have one without her but I said no I wanted her there due to all of the issues. I also found out the info the principal is getting from the teacher is different than what is actually happening. We’ll get it taken care of one way or the other.

Leave a Reply

