Everything’s a fuckin’ travesty with you, man! 2/2/12

What throws me is the fit has been thrown at different parts of the bed time process everyday this week.  We never know what to think.  Tonight we got through Pajamas/Bath/Tooth Brushing with minor incidents but all acceptable.  Story time starts and Walter would not sit still and listen.  He insisted on touching my face, talking over me, farting randomly (as opposed to the dreaded pre-planned fart I guess.)  I finally had enough and told him good night and I loved him.  He screamed bloody murder, called me stupid and hit the wall a few times. He’s been silent for ten minutes but I have no clue if he fell asleep or is simply plotting the second invasion of NAM.  All I know is when this kid doesn’t get his way he goes nutty, and sometimes when he gets his way he still goes nutty just for the hell of it.  I see him so seldomly and feel what little time I do get with him I’m forced to be a total bummer man.  I got teach this kid how to abide without pissing him off.

Update: Well at least he was asleep before 8:30, didn’t punch anything and didn’t lock the door.  It’s the tiny victories I celebrate.

This entry was posted in Diary of a Dudeist Dad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everything’s a fuckin’ travesty with you, man! 2/2/12

  1. burbanmom says:

    Oh Mike, this is tough. It sounds like he’s doing what all toddlers do when they try to figure out where the boundaries are – in other words – “at what point will Mom and Dad break?”. Unfortunately, he’s 6, not 2, which means he’s got a hell of a lot more stamina for these tantrums. I think the same rules apply, though – stay strong, stand your ground and just continue to cherish those small victories. Just remember, like all horrible phases kids go through (oh yea, this is just ONE of them – it WILL get worse!), this too shall pass. Keep your sense of humor, always have a bottle of wine on hand and, if necessary, invest in some quality ear plugs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

